CC Issue 40 / Music

Music Refresh

In the spirit of Issue 40’s “Hello, Goodbye” theme I’ve decided to finally refresh the music on my iPhone. It’s been nearly a year since I’ve properly updated my music and I’m not sure that I’ve ever purposely deleted some songs just to give them a rest. So today, not without some hesitation, I say goodbye to some old favourites and hello to some new tunes.

Since there are some songs on my current playlists that will always be part of my life so I’ve simply made a list of songs I really love to which I will say auf wiedersehen, or, until we meet again. I’ll invite them back soon enough, but I think a little distance will make the heart grow fonder. This list exists partly to make sure I actually go through with this but moreso to hopefully offer up some new music or remind you to dust off some forgotten mp3s.

  • Arcade Fire “Neighbourhood #1 (Tunnels)”
  • Beach Boys “Sloop John B”
  • The Beatles “Come Together”
  • The Beatles “Day Tripper”
  • The Beatles “Get Back”
  • The Beatles “Got To Get You Into My Life”
  • The Beatles “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)”

Damn, I’m really starting to regret this already. I notably skipped “Here Comes the Sun”. Just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

  • The Beatles “Lovely Rita”
  • The Beatles “Mean Mr. Mustard”
  • The Beatles “Nowhere Man”
  • The Beatles “Paperback Writer”
  • The Beatles “Taxman”
  • Big Wreck “That Song”
  • Coheed and Cambria “Cuts Marked In The March Of Men”
  • Coheed and Cambria “The Willing Well I: Fuel For The Feeding End”
  • Coheed and Cambria “The Willing Well II: Fear Through The Eyes of Madness”
  • Coheed and Cambria “The Willing Well III: Apollo II: The Telling Truth”
  • Coheed and Cambria “The Willing Well IV: The Final Cut”
  • Coldplay “Spies”
  • Death Cab for Cutie “Passenger Seat”
  • Death Cab for Cutie “A Movie Script Ending”
  • The Decemberists “The Hazards of Love” (Entire Album)
  • Elton John “Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
  • Fleet Foxes “Oliver James”
  • Fleet Foxes “Quiet Houses”
  • Fleet Foxes “Mykonos”
  • Fleet Foxes “White Winter Hymnal”
  • Fleetwood Mac “Second Hand News”
  • Foo Fighters “Monkey Wrench”
  • The Get Up Kids “Anne Arbour”
  • The Joy Formidable “Whirring”
  • The Killers “All These Things That I’ve Done”
  • Led Zeppelin “In The Light”
  • Matthew Good Band “Apparitions”
  • Matthew Good Band “Running For Home”
  • Matthew Good Band “Indestructible”
  • Mineral “Unfinished”
  • Mineral “GJS”
  • My Morning Jacket “Touch Me I’m Going To Scream Pt. 1”

Ok, so it looks like this list is MUUUUCH longer than I expected. Of course I don’t expect you to actually be sitting there and reading this all. Just have a quick scan through and hopefully you’ll be inspired to do some enjoyable listening.

  • The National “Fake Empire”
  • Panda Bear “Last Night at the Jetty”
  • Paul McCartney “3 Legs”
  • The Postal Service “Give Up” (Entire Album)
  • Propagandhi “Without Love”
  • Radiohead “Fake Plastic Trees”
  • Radiohead “Street Spirit (Fade Out)”
  • Radiohead “Reckoner”
  • Radiohead “Videotape”
  • Radiohead “Everything In It’s Right Place”
  • Radiohead “No Surprises”
  • Sigur Ros “Suo i eyrum”
  • Simon and Garfunkel “America”
  • Simon and Garfunkel “Bleeker Street”
  • Simon and Garfunkel “The Boxer”
  • Simon and Garfunkel “Cecilia”
  • Thom Yorke “Atoms For Peace”
  • U2 “Where The Streets Have No Name”

Fewf. If I haven’t lost you at this point, here’s an extremely short list of new music I’ve decided to add.

PLEASE help me out by suggesting some of your old favourites or new tunes so I have something left to listen to!

Leave a Reply

