CC Issue 30 / News / Politics / Reflections

All Things Are New

I’ve spent most of my life thus far choosing safety instead of risk. I liked my little comfortable world until it just got so deathly boring it was time to make a change. Yes friends, I have avoided change and risk to the point of brain death. Don’t cry for me too much, now. Things are looking up.

We’ve sold the house and moved, left the jobs, gone back to school full time and are pursuing careers as teachers!

In the first month of school I let all these changes overwhelm me and chose to react to discomfort and difficulty with fear and anxiety. This isn’t really working out so well for me. My strategy in life so far, as it turns out, has been to put forth maximum effort in all tasks consistently until they are all finished and then move on to the next list (I do love my lists).

What’s that? This doesn’t work for everything, you say? What happens when you aren’t good at something, you ask? I didn’t try those things. Don’t be silly.

It should be no surprise to me that, as a teacher, my work will never be finished and I will burn out incredibly fast doing things the old way. I’ve decided, with a little help from my friends, that I’m going to adopt a more positive outlook and look on the bright side of life. I’ve been my own worst enemy and would be a terrible example to my students if I didn’t take my own advice and boldly face a little failure in the name of living and learning. I am learning so much every day and it would be a terrible shame if I missed out on the joy and satisfaction of each accomplishment because I was concerned I didn’t know everything.

I recently watched an excellent animate of an inspiring talk Sir Ken Robinson gave on creativity, divergent thinking and the need for a paradigm shift in education. I know that if this change is going to happen, I need to start by embracing these principles and concepts in my own life.

2 thoughts on “All Things Are New

Leave a Reply

