CC Issue 28 / Literature

Lifelong Learning and My Current Reading List

Having recently started a teacher training program in Ontario I have been spending an ample amount of time reflecting on my strengths and weaknesses and the kind of example I will be setting for my students. The teachers who influenced me most were aware of current events, seemed to have rich personal lives and communicated their insights intelligently. It’s easy to get caught up in a busy school schedule and forget to leave time for personal reading but I am making a concerted effort to keep reading for fun and for self-improvement. The short list below will give you an idea of my interests at the moment but the waiting list is available on my Hamilton Public Library profile should you be interested. Suggestions are welcome!

"The Power of Habit" book cover

The Power of Habit
Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business
by Charles Duhigg

Scientific discoveries help to explain “why habits exist and how they can be changed” (book jacket). Duhigg explores the connections between human emotion, behaviour and physiology and provides practical reprogramming instructions.

Status: Currently Reading (page 6)

Around My French Table
More than 300 Recipes From My Home to Yours
By Dorie Greenspan

As an avid fan of Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and his passion for food education I am always on the lookout for a solid, simple cookbook to help me be a better cook. This cookbook came recommended by blogger Isabelle at The Little Red Kitchen. Though I haven’t had a chance to cook anything yet I’ve bookmarked my little heart out! Soon I will be feasting on Saint-Germain-des-Pres Onion Biscuits and Asparagus Soup with Spice-Poached Apples or Pears. Yum.

Status: Currently Reading (perusing soups)

Brain Pickings blogBrain Pickings
“…a human-powered discovery engine for interestingness….”*
with Maria Popova at brainpickings.org

This list would be incomplete without an electronic contribution and Brain Pickings is by far my favourite subsciption. I can’t wait to log into my Google Reader or Feedler for inspiring and informative reading every day.

Status: Always reading (56 new posts and counting!)

 Maps of the Imagination Maps of the Imagination The Writer as Cartographer By Turchi, Peter  book cover

Maps of the Imagination
The Writer as Carographer
By Peter Turchi

“What can German globe makers, British cartographers, the Marx brothers, and Roadrunner cartoons tell us about writers from Sappho to Italo Calvino? According to fiction writer Peter Turchi, both cartographers and writers draw from the same well of creativity, curiosity, and adventuresome spirit…. Turchi explores the challenges of blank space and the blank page, the role of geometry in maps and of formal devices in writing, the goals of exploration and challenges of presentation, and the balance of intuition with intention. Each idea is richly illustrated with maps, drawings and other illustrations” (goodreads.com).

This book was discovered on Brain Pickings’ list of “7 Must-Read Books on Maps“.

Status: Up Next

Leave a Reply

