CC Issue 19 / Literature

Top Ten Best Reads of the Year

There’s no rhyme nor reason to why I’m writing this list now rather than December. Consider it a fiscal year to assess the value of what I’ve read in the last twelve months. Here it goes…

1. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

Indeed the holes in this story are mysterious and intriguing, if the book as a whole is a little over-researched.

2. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

So much better than the movie, even though I’ve only seen the trailer.

3. Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh

A bleak but fascinating look at how opium came to gain its stranglehold on the Asian continent.

4. The Unconsoled by Kazuo Ishiguro

Anguished restraint at nearly its best, and not as boring as Never Let Me Go.

5.  In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar

A young boy’s account of his world as it unravels in the increasingly repressive climate of Libya in the early ‘80s.

6. A Long Time Ago & Essentially True by Brigid Pasulka

Like it sounds, a fairy tale, but mixed with the history of a Polish family over several generations since World War II.

7. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

Also very good, if “extremely” Yiddish.

8. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest by Stieg Larsson

It’s the only one I’ve read and I can’t deny that the writing is vivid and the story gripping.

9. The Tempest by William Shakespeare

Technically a play, but I read it for the first time (outside of a college course) and I think its great.

10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Though I hesitate to put this on here, I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Add your own please! I’d love to have more to share.

Leave a Reply

