CC Issue 17 / Reflections

Leaving

“To me, if life boils down to one thing, it’s movement. To live is to keep moving.” – Jerry Seinfeld

This is not actually a picture of me.

Finally, the decision has been made.  Should we?  Shouldn’t we?  Where?  Why?  How?  Is it possible?  And then, decision.  We’re leaving Hong Kong.

After two years back here, it’s time to move on to less polluted pastures and embark upon the latest in a series of lasts.  The last hiking trip to Sai Kung, the last dim sum in Tsing Yi, the last meal with friends.  The last, the last, the last.  I’m 30 now and it occurs to me that I have spent a lot of time jumping from lasts to firsts over the past ten years.  I have lived in Japan, Australia, America, Australia again, Hong Kong, Australia again, Hong Kong again and now I’m off again.

I am so glad that I have been able to hop around like this and meet so many wonderful people, but the problem with being so itinerant is that everything becomes temporary.  Furniture, jobs, friendships, everything.  I am blessed to have met so many wonderful people over the past ten years and cursed that I will hardly ever see them.  Is it better to have met and lost than never to have met at all?

Obviously, the answer is yes, because your best friends are friends for life.  When you click, you click, and it doesn’t matter how many miles apart you live or how long it takes to catch up, you know that you will always be close.  Plus, all these extra mates help you get your facebook numbers up.  Actually, that’s the main reason I am moving; I’m not making any more friends here in a hurry and the facebook tally has stalled.  Time to move on, chalk up a few superficial friendships, click the ‘add’ button and watch the numbers climb, boy.

A fleeting thought passes through my head, and I wonder why I keep wanting to see new places.  Am I genuinely adventurous, curious and open-minded?  Or am I unable to stay in one place for other reasons?  I don’t know.  Clearly, I would like to lean towards the former, but I really don’t know.  I’m sure it’s a question the unsettled among us have often asked themselves.

Before I ponder that too much, it’s time chase those silly questions out with another first: my first effort at combining Vegemite with ice cream.

* * *

It was not good.

6 thoughts on “Leaving

  1. Oh man!!! My facebook numbers are totally stalling as well and I hadn’t noticed, thanks for bringing this to my attention. Wait. What? Who’s leaving? You’re…ok, let’s catch up sunday and have one last last scream cry together. I’m having a tough time keeping a stiff upper lip right now.

Leave a Reply

