CC Issue 15 / Music

Somebody That I Used To Know

I’m not a person who is generally considered to have his finger on the pulse.  I am known to come into work on a Monday morning and breathlessly tell everyone how brilliant this new TV show/song/youtube clip I found is, only to be told, unblinkingly, “I’ve known about it for two years.  Now get outta here… and you might want to get a new pair of glasses. They’re so last season.”

Yeah?  You’re so last season.

So it was with some joy that I discovered that Gotye has become a massive youtube sensation.  At the time of writing, the clip for his song, ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ has been viewed just under 70 million times.  It was voted the number one song of the year in Triple J’s Hottest 100 and has topped the charts in various countries, including 16 weeks at number one in Poland.  Quite an effort for a guy who wrote, recorded and produced the entire album by himself in his parents’ barn.  For those of you who haven’t heard the song yet (“Umm… I’ve known of it for ages”), here it is:

 

 

I wasn’t a Gotye fan, but I was a fan of his band, The Basics.  A friend of mine at uni, let’s call him Kris (because that is his name), started a band and invited me and anyone else who would listen to come along and see them play.  They were playing at a small venue to a semi-interested crowd.  I saw them a few times and thought they were great.  They were a three-piece band with Beatles suits, a stripped down sound and a drummer who sang.  What wasn’t to like?

When their first album came out, I was all over it.  I actually loved it and not just because it was my mate’s band.  I would tell my friends about it.  “Have a listen to this,” I’d say.  “Yeah, pretty good,” they’d reply.  “Now, if you’ll just let me ignore what you just said and change the subject…”

“Patience, Nick,” thought I.  One day someone will come and tell you about some amazing music they heard and you will look at them with utter contempt and say, “What, you’re only discovering that now?  I’ve known about him for years.”

Look how the tables have turned.  You’re all ears now, aren’t you?  Gotye is the man of the moment and you’re all interested to hear some of his old band’s stuff.  Well, luckily I’m not one to hold a grudge and I’m happy to share it with you.  So now that I have your attention, here are some lovely little tunes from a band started by somebody that I used to know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Somebody That I Used To Know

  1. I love the Supermayer mix of Goyte’s “Heart’s a Mess”. Exactly what I’d want to hear bursting from the speakers around dawn on Sunday morning at a Berlin club.

Leave a Reply

