CC Issue 09 / Film / TV

5 Scary Movies

Happy Halloween.

Let me start by saying that I don’t really like Halloween. As a kid I wasn’t allowed to do it because people put razor blades in apples or something. As an adult the idea of getting dressed up in a costume and/or getting drunk to loud dance music has never appealed to me.

I don’t like scary movies either. Most of them are dumb and the really good ones are just too damn scary.

Basically I’m the Ebenezer Scrooge of Halloween. Which is fine because it’s not a real holiday anyway and it’s evil.

So, in the spirit of Halloween – which I hate – here are 5 movies that I love that are truly scary. Put one of them on tonight at your lame party.

5) No Country For Old Men

4) Let The Right One In

3) Mulholland Drive

2) The Silence of the Lambs

1) Rosemary’s Baby

 

*AUTHORS NOTE*

I recommend watching the clips I’ve posted even if you have to follow the links to youtube. I tried really hard to find a tiny glimpse of the movie that gives you a gist of the tone without any spoilers. All that being said, most of you guys have seen these movies a million times already.

One thought on “5 Scary Movies

  1. Mulholland Drive scene is the scariest thing I’ve ever seen on film.

    As far as pure violence goes, I just watched this HK film by Pang Ho Cheung called “Dream House.” Fucking brutal, absolutely brutal.

Leave a Reply

